I have no peers in America

Tarek Mehanna, 27, an American Muslim, has spent years in solitary confinement and, as of 4 days ago and after the statement below, may spend years more. His words remind us of the wrongness of invading another country, that we should “bring the troops home”, and that 100,000 foreign troops killing and brutalising across Afghanistan will just utterly fail in a country that really knows and understands Islam. 

 

TAREK’S SENTENCING STATEMENT

APRIL 12, 2012

Read to Judge O’Toole during his sentencing, April 12th 2012.

In the name of God the most gracious the most merciful Exactly four years ago this month I was finishing my work shift at a local hospital. As I was walking to my car I was approached by two federal agents. They said that I had a choice to make: I could do things the easy way, or I could do them the hard way. The “easy ” way, as they explained, was that I would become an informant for the government, and if I did so I would never see the inside of a courtroom or a prison cell. As for the hard way, this is it. Here I am, having spent the majority of the four years since then in a solitary cell the size of a small closet, in which I am locked down for 23 hours each day. The FBI and these prosecutors worked very hard-and the government spent millions of tax dollars – to put me in that cell, keep me there, put me on trial, and finally to have me stand here before you today to be sentenced to even more time in a cell.

In the weeks leading up to this moment, many people have offered suggestions as to what I should say to you. Some said I should plead for mercy in hopes of a light sentence, while others suggested I would be hit hard either way. But what I want to do is just talk about myself for a few minutes… (more)

Image

Leave a Reply

